Advisory board

The Manchester Institute of Innovation Research strategic advisory board is composed of six individuals from the UK and abroad with a high level of reputation and experience in their field.

The three academic members represent the three Institute pillars of economics, management and policy, while other members represent industry, policy and the third sector. The purpose of the advisory board is to advise on: 

  • the research activities and strategies of the Institute, commenting on the overall direction, complementarities, gaps, relevance and excellence;
  • the visibility, positioning and networking of the Institute in the key global, national and regional academic communities it represents and engages with; and
  • the societal, policy, management and economic impacts of the Institute and its related contract and networking activities.


  • Hannah Boardman

    Hannah Boardman, Director, Department for Science, Innovation and Technology

    Hannah is the Director for Technologies and Innovative Regulation in the newly established Department for Science, Innovation and Technology. She is responsible for Government’s engagement with, and investment in, core emerging technologies including Engineering Biology, Quantum Technologies, Robotics, Cyber Physical Infrastructure and Advanced Materials. Hannah also leads efforts to promote and coordinate more innovative approaches to regulation for emerging and developing technologies.

  • Dr Lisa Dale-Clough

    Dr Lisa Dale-Clough, Assistant Director, Economy, Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA)

    Lisa’s role is to manage the economic portfolio and team of the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, ensuring the right policies, investment and delivery is in place to achieve the city-region’s economic priorities and ambitions. This includes overseeing the implementation of the Greater Manchester Local Industrial Strategy – including driving innovation-led growth across Greater Manchester - the Good Work and Real Living Wage campaigns, and the commissioning and management of business support programmes.

  • Pablo D’Este

    Pablo D’Este, Scientist Researcher, Spanish Council for Scientific Research (CSIC), INGENIO

    Pablo D’Este was a teaching assistant in Economics at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona from 1992 to 1998. He was a Research Fellow at SPRU from 2002 to 2008, and was supported by a UK Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) Postdoctoral Fellowship between 2004 to 2005. In 2006, he was appointed an Advanced Institute of Management (AIM) Research Fellow at Cranfield School of Management and held a double appointment at Cranfield School of Management and SPRU, University of Sussex, between 2006 and 2008. Since July 2008 he has been a researcher at INGENIO (CSIC-UPV).

  • Josef Hagrave

    Josef Hagrave, Director of Foresight at ARUP

    Josef is responsible for the delivery of foresight services, tools, and projects globally, leading a multi-disciplinary team of programme managers, designers, and consultants that specialise in trends research, design thinking, strategic planning, innovation programmes, thought leadership, and vision making for both internal and external clients. Over the past 10+ years, Josef has delivered projects in over 20 countries, working for some of the world's leading organisations in property, technology, chemicals, mobility, energy, healthcare, manufacturing, consumer goods, and finance.

  • Professor Alan Hughes

    Alan Hughes, Professor of Innovation, Imperial College Business School, London.

    Professor Hughes has held visiting Professorships in the USA, Japan, France and Australia. He was Director of the Centre for Business Research at Cambridge from 1994 to 2014 and was Director of the National Competitiveness Network of the Cambridge-MIT Institute. He was for 10 years a Member of the UK Prime Minister’s Council for Science and Technology. and was a member of the Foresight Lead Expert Group on the review of the Future of UK Manufacturing. He is a member of the UK Ministry of Defence Independent Science and Technical Advisory (ISTA) Panel.

  • Maureen McKelvey

    Professor Maureen McKelvey

    Maureen is Professor at the University of Gothenburg and currently director of RIDE research center, R&D, Innovation and Dynamics in Economies. Her research focuses on the “Economics of Innovation”, including the broader societal and political contexts for innovations. Increasingly, she works at the intersection of “Economics of Innovation” and “Innovation Management” because firms are such crucial agents of change for innovations.

    View academic profile

  • Professor Sylvia Schwaag Serger

    Professor Sylvia Schwaag Serger, Lund University, Sweden

    Sylvia has spent 20 years designing, implementing and studying innovation policy in Europe and China. Before returning to academia in 2018, she worked in several Swedish government positions and ran an independent think tank. At EU level, she has chaired an expert group on international research and innovation cooperation and is currently member of the Expert Group on the Economic and Societal Impact of Research and Innovation (ESIR).